Online Payment
mobile menu
URGENT - Please be aware our school is closed Thursday 14th and 15th January due to the adverse weather. Remote learning on Teams and SeeSaw will be taking place for all pupils.


Please note, as of October 2020, Mrs Berry and Mrs Johnson are on maternity leave.

Miss Eke, Miss Atkinson and Miss Lockett are available to speak to in relation to any safeguarding query or concern.


Safeguarding Lead - Mrs Annabel Berry 

Deputy Safeguarding officers -  Miss Laura Eke, Miss Sharon Lockett, Miss Amy Atkinson and Mrs Emma Johnson 


                                             Should you have any safeguarding concerns, you should contact one of our Safeguarding officers.


Our safeguarding governor is Mrs Katie Teal.

If you wish to make contact with Mrs Teal please contact the school office.



Safeguarding is a term which is broader than ‘child protection’ and relates to the action taken to promote the welfare of children and protect them from harm. Pupils' safety is paramount at Towngate Primary Academy.


Please contact a member of the Safeguarding Team if you have any concerns about a pupil within the Academy.

If parents/carers would like any further information regarding the safeguarding of children then please follow this link: 


Here at Towngate Primary Academy we are committed to the Wakefield and District Safeguarding Children Partnership's ‘Young People’s Safeguarding Charter'. You will find our certificate in and around out Academy.



                                                                                     Safeguarding charter


Social Care Direct

If you or some one you know needs any help or support then your first point of contact is Social Care Direct. 

If you have an concerns about the welfare or safety of a child, young person or vulnerable adult then please contact Social Care Direct.

Any information you give will be treated with confidentiality. 

Social Care Direct are open 24 hours, 7 days a week. 
Telephone: 0845 8 503 503.

Childrens First Hub

Early help brings together professionals who will work with your whole family, to try and improve things for eveyone. Early help can include support with things like parenting, employment, anti-social behaviour and emotional well being. They are for families who have children and young people up to the age of 19, or up to the age of 25 if SEND. 

Having a team of professionals working with your family ensures you recieve the most appropriate help to meet your needs. Helping your family EARLY, before things get worse and more difficult to change, has being shown to be more effective.

Childrens First Hub: 01924 303272 

You can also get advice from: - national website and confidential helpline - 0800 1111 - national drugs advice website and helpline - 0800 123 6600 - for children and young people who runaway and their families. Phone or text 116 000 - national internet safety website for children, young people and parents - confidential 24 hour helpline 116 123







Remember if you need someone to talk to you can talk to anyone at school or alternatively you can ring Childline on 0800 11 11 – 24 Hour Line. Please find further information about E-Safety on our computing page. 

  • Part of:Inspire
  • Aspire Teaching School
  • National Teaching School
  • Code Club Logo
  • National Support School